Community Resources

BENEFITS OF NATURE

Nature of Health study – University of Washington (https://earthlab.uw.edu/members-and-affiliates/nature-for-health/)

PLAY-BASED LEARNING

Teacher Tom: Teacher Tom is a long-time early childhood educator in Seattle, WA. His blog offers keen insights and useful takeaways for guiding little ones through their early years of development. (http://teachertomsblog.blogspot.com/)

Play and Grow: Eastside-based Teacher Karen Whittier’s blog explores the multitude of ways that play facilitates learning. Whittier’s associated website provides everything from toy recommendations to free activity and play ideas for the home. (https://playandgrow.com/teacher-karens-thoughts/)

Wilder Child: This page was created by a nature-minded parent and is a great resource for anyone who wants to incorporate the outdoors more into their own family routines and/or are homeschooling with similar values. (https://wilderchild.com/)

LOCAL KID-FRIENDLY HIKING AND OUTDOOR ACTIVITIES

Kids Programs with The Mountaineers (https://www.mountaineers.org/youth/kids-programs)

Washington Trails Association (https://www.wta.org/go-outside/kids)

The Hiker Mama (http://www.thehikermama.com)

Backwoods Mama (BC) (https://www.backwoodsmama.com/)

Project Nature (https://www.projectnaturewa.com/discover/)

Year of Seattle Parks (http://www.yearofseattleparks.com/)

King County Parks (https://www.kingcounty.gov/services/parks-recreation/parks.aspx)

Pierce County Parks (https://www.piercecountywa.org/1292/Parks-Facilities-Trails)

NOT LOCAL but HELPFUL: Forest Owl (http://www.forestowl.co.uk/)

LOCAL PARENTING PUBLICATIONS:

Parentmap (http://www.parentmap.com)

Seattle’s Child (http://www.seattleschild.com/Things-To-Do/)

Red Tricycle – Seattle (http://redtri.com/outdoor-activities-for-kids/seattle/)

LOCAL NON-PROFIT ENVIRONMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS

Shadow Lake Nature Preserve (http://shadowhabitat.org/)

Nature Conservancy – Washington Nature (http://www.washingtonnature.org/ )

Green River Coalition (http://www.greenrivercoalition.org/)

GEAR RESOURCES 

Wonderland Gear Exchange (Seattle): (https://wonderlandgearexchange.com/)

Second Gear Sports (West Seattle): (https://www.secondgearsports.com/)

Play It Again Sports: (https://www.playseattle.com/)

Superior Seconds (Issaquah): (http://www.superiorseconds.org/)

Kid to Kid (Kent): (http://kidtokid.com/kent/)

SPECIAL NEEDS RESOURCES/REFERRALS

Tahoma School District Special Services/Special Ed (http://tahomasd.ss19.sharpschool.com/departments/special_programs/special_services__special_ed)

Maple Valley Pediatric Therapy (https://www.mvpedtherapy.com/)

Children’s Therapy Center (https://www.ctckids.org)

Kindering (https://www.kindering.org/)

Boyer Children’s Clinic (https://www.boyercc.org/)

University of Washington Experimental Education Unit (http://eeuschool.org/)

Seattle Children’s Playgarden (https://www.childrensplaygarden.org/)

FAMILY-FRIENDLY LOCAL FARMS/GREEN SPACES

The Mason Jar Farm (http://www.themasonjarfarm.com/)

Tilth Alliance Farm Finder (http://www.pugetsoundfresh.org/farms)

LOCAL ENVIRONMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS

Cedar River Watershed (http://www.seattle.gov/util/environmentconservation/education/cedarriverwatershed/)

Project Nature (http://www.projectnaturewa.com)

Seattle Children’s Playgarden (https://www.childrensplaygarden.org/)

NATIONAL ASSOCIATIONS:

National Association for the Education of Young Children (https://www.naeyc.org/)

American Forest Kindergarten Association (https://www.forestkindergartenassociation.org/)

Natural Start Alliance (https://naturalstart.org/)

Children and Nature Network (https://www.childrenandnature.org)